Press "Enter" to skip to content

Bumrah Releashed From India’s Suad ahead of 4th Test: UMesh Yadav/Mohammed Siraj in Line to Feature

Indian pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah was on Sunday released from India’s squad for the Test against England, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) said in a media on Saturday.

“Jasprit Bumrah made a request to BCCI to be released from India’s squad ahead of the fourth Test owing to personal reasons. Accordingly, the fast bowler has been released,” confirmed by the BCCI. 

“There will be no addition to India’s squad for the final Test” the release further added.

Actually, in the ongoing series, he played only two Tests and manage to pick only 4 wickets in the first Test match. He missed the second Test as a part of the workload management policy of BCCI. Even in the third Test at Motera, his role has been very limited as the pitch was in favor of spinners. As in the last match, the Indian duo of  Ashwin and Axar Patel performed really well so Bumrah was not needed to play a big role as India is currently standing unassailable 2-1 up in the four-match series.

Bumrah is expected to return to the ODI series on March 23 against England which will start next month as because, he will be on rest for the five-match T20 series which will start on 12th March. All those three test Matches (March)  ODI Series to be Played Without Spectators Due to Spike in COVID-19 Cases in the state, confirmed by the Maharashtra Cricket Association on Saturday.

Now coming to the final race of the ongoing series, it will be an important one for India and they need just a draw in it to secure its spot in the final of the ongoing ICC World Test Championship.

So, Bumrah will not be available in the coming squad but who could replace him?

Mohammed Siraj:

He is the person who can be a justified replacement for Bumrah as he has shown his talent with ball in his limited cricket career.

Umesh Yadav: Still he did not feature in playing XI in the last test match but he also can also be a good choice of management considering with every match he will learn, but he would have a tough competition from Mohammed Siraj.

Team India’s squad for the 4th Test:

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Mayank Agarwal, Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (V. Captain), K L Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Rishabh Pant (wicket-keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket-keeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Ishant Sharma, Md. Siraj, Umesh Yadav.

Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *